ETEC Reflections: Week 2 (Web Tools & Social Movements)

The team assignment for this week allows us to focus on a recent movement/event/cause, and how social media outlets have played a role keeping the public informed with every detail surrounding said movement/event/cause.

It’s quite interesting to look at how we as the public take in stories from the news in our digital world of social networking and up to the second news flashes. I remember the day the Boston Marathon Bombing occurred, and how I logged onto my Facebook account when I got up in the morning and all I saw on the screen were posts saying “God Bless Boston”, “Boston Strong”, or “Pray For Boston”. Not knowing why the majority of people linked to my social network were posting about Boston, I was encouraged to turn on the TV to see what was going on on East Coast. When a tragedy like the bombing in Boston happens, it is amazing how we as people are able to bond by sharing news and informing all who are in our networks. I like how this can all be done at rapid speeds, reaching all over the world.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

