Final Project- Part 1

I created a survey using Google Forms to gather my data on social media use its relation to the education field. I surveyed 10 peers whom I have known for various lengths of time over the past 4 years. The participants ranged in age from 19-28. All participants are of Asian/Pacific Islander and/or Caucasian ethnic backgrounds.  Of the 10 participants, 8 are currently students at an institution of higher learning on Oahu. All of my participants use at least 1 social media tool and do so on at least a monthly basis.  Only 4 participants use social media for educational purposes and also think that social media is important in education.

Here is a graphic representing my survey results:

 

Timestamp

How often do you use social media?

How many social media tools do you use most frequent?

Do you use social media for educational purposes?

Do you think that social media is important in education?

Are you a student?

7/27/2013

Daily

2

No

Yes

Yes

7/27/2013

Daily

5 or more

No

No

No

7/27/2013

Weekly

1

Yes

Yes

Yes

7/27/2013

Daily

3

Yes

Yes

No

7/27/2013

Daily

3

No

No

Yes

7/27/2013

Daily

2

No

No

Yes

7/27/2013

Weekly

1

No

No

Yes

7/27/2013

Daily

5 or more

Yes

No

Yes

7/27/2013

Weekly

2

Yes

Yes

Yes

7/27/2013

Monthly

1

No

No

Yes

 I was not shocked to find out all of my participants made use of at least 1 social media tool, nor was it surprising that they all use social media at least once a month. This link,  http://www.marketingcharts.com/wp/interactive/young-people-completely-wedded-to-their-mobile-phones-25427/, I feel supports my inference quite well.  I was most interested in finding out whether my participants use social media for educational purposes and whether or not the think social media is important in education. Over the past 3 years I have seen social media applied in my own courses of study, I was curious to see if they play an influence in the courses that my participants take.

Social Media Integration in Higher Education http://steveradick.com/2010/08/18/social-media-integration-in-higher-education/

I would rate this resource a 5 out of 5. I really like how it justifies the value in having social media communication integrated into higher education curricula. In the example of content on Facebook pages sometimes causing potential applicants to miss out on jobs, I like how in reverse social media tools can be used to showcase the positive points that an applicant has to offer. This resource encourages thinking outside of the conventional box when it comes to education. Hearing this is perfect for us educators thinking in terms of the present and the future.

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Final Project- Part 1

  1. monkoski says:

    Hey Kellen,

    I Heard:
    I see that you surveyed people about their thoughts regarding social media use in education. All of your participants use at least 1 social media tool monthly. Most are college students, and only 4 use social media for educational purposes. I saw that your resource was interesting, especially when she mentions how companies screen their candidate’s social media pages, and how that is even more evidence on the importance of social media education.

    I Noticed:
    I noticed that one of the people who said they do use social media for educational purposes then said no, they don’t think that social media is important in education. I also noticed you used a Prezi to present your information. I thought it was an interesting choice, but could have had better graphic representation of your results.

    I Wondered:
    I wonder why you didn’t really ask follow up questions. For example, when you asked how many types of social media they use, it would have been interesting to know what type was the most popular/least popular. Another example is when you asked if they use social media for educational purposes, it would have been good to know how they use it. I’m also curious as to what your results mean to you in regards to implications about your PLN.

  2. Hi Kellen, I liked your Prezi display with the microscope – pretty clever. You were able to successfully gather 10 participants great job! That was one of many challenges I faced in my own project. You created your survey on google forms which I also did and found it somewhat easy. Your participants ranged in the 19-28 age range, which I consider somewhat young. 8 out of 10 surveyed participants were students enrolled in higher learning courses.
    I visited your resource links and found it interesting at how much the age range of 18-30, which I consider young, use their smartphones. I have not upgraded to one of these yet and still have my “Dumbphone” that I use for talking and texting and if I really get motivated, I may take a picture that is very hard to see because of its small screen. Your other resource site referred to being offered a job because she was able to set up a Facebook page that was professionally acceptable. This just goes to show how important social media skills can be to company. I agree that a class which teaches social media skills needs to be offered at both the high school as well as the college level. It could take the place of a traditional speech class or be integrated into another class. Overall, your selections of resource links were very good choices. I found them interesting and agree with you on a 5 of 5 rating.
    What I wonder about is what gender were your participants. I wonder this just because in some of the readings I have found discussed differences between male and female use of social media. I also wonder how many of your participants used smartphones or handheld devices to take your survey. As I read your project this question came to mind because I assumed my participants took my survey on a laptop or some computer at home, not realizing they could have taken it on a handheld device. I also wondered about the charts you used in your Prezi presentation. I was sometimes confused about how each participant answered the questions. I had a very difficult time inserting my own chart into my blog and presentation so I can relate to this challenge.
    Great job on your final project part 1 and thank you for sharing your resource pages with me. I was able to learn much more on social media and its importance in education.

Leave a Reply

