Final Project- Part 2

Personal Learning Networks (PLN) to me are mobile environments where individuals can gather synchronously and/or asynchronously and share information, collaborating collectively over a common goal. This goal is on an educational basis such as for professional development. The PLN that I have the most experience being apart of is Edmodo. Here educators and future educators had the opportunity to share and review ideas with one another to improve their teaching and lesson designs. Students and their parents/guardians could also interact in this PLN, often being able to benefit from resources and better collaboration with educators on board. For this assignment I looked into 2 PLNs, Curriki and Diigo, that I had yet to explore. Here is a look into what I found.

 Curriki.org is an online community where users can create and share their ideas for helping the learning process with other educators. There are thousands of resources for which k-12 educators can use, canvassing the range of subject areas. However the resources are available to all who wish to take advantage of all that Curriki has to offer. All who want can join Curriki and use the resources that are on the network as membership to join Curriki is free and the materials, although copyrighted by Curriki, are shared under Creative Commons. With Curriki, all students across the globe can have access to top quality levels of education at costs much more  effective than by traditional resources (Kurshan, 2008). This resource allows me to access the best and most up to date teaching resources that are being used in classrooms today. It also puts me in touch with educational minds who are changing the world of education with innovative teaching methods. I am able to interact and share, passing the torch of educator to all who wish to make a difference.

 Diigo.com is a cloud-based Personal Information Management (PIM) system where users can bookmark webpages that can be accessed via different web browsers and different computers using Diigo. However Diigo also allows users to save a variety of data, such as documents, pictures, screenshots, and notes, while increasing the number of platforms which is supported by it (Android, iPad, and iPhone).  Users can add digital highlights and digital sticky notes to webpages or  articles that they access online. Since Diigo is cloud-based, all media that was recorded will automatically be saved for future use (Estelles, Del Moral, & Gonzalez, 2010) . Media saved on the cloud can also be downloaded to a platform device for use offline if working online will not be available. Diigo allows me to access all external notes that I make about a web resource anytime, and using any platform that I may have. This allows an easy way to share information with myself for later use, or to share with peers who are also on the cloud. It makes research a much more time efficient task and thus more effective when done right.

 I rate the article by Estelles, Del Moral, & Gonzalez a 4. This is because I felt that the article was easy to follow and informative based on the type of information that I was looking for in a resource. The authors cover insight into collaborative learning and how Diigo is supportive of this cause. 

I rate the article by Kurshan a 4. I give the article a 4 because it goes into detail about Open Education Resources and collaboration between educators. The article talks about Curriki as a resource and how it goes to build on what has already been done in terms of collaboration.

Prezi link: http://prezi.com/no-djlzvpwrp/untitled-prezi/

 

References:

1. Estellés, E., Del Moral, E., & González, F. (2010). Social bookmarking tools as facilitators of learning and research collaborative processes: The Diigo case. Interdisciplinary Journal of E-Learning and Learning Objects, 6(1), 175-191.

 2. Kurshan, B. B. (2008). OER Models that Build a Culture of Collaboration: A Case Exemplified by Curriki. eLearning Papers, (10), 3.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Final Project- Part 2

  1. Hi Kellen,
    Great project and thanks for introducing me to curriki and diigo. I had actually never used either, in fact I never heard of curriki until I read your blog post! I liked your prezi presentation, it was clear and concise and helped to stress the points you made in your blog post above. Thanks for sharing!
    -Melissa

  2. Hi Kellen,
    After reading your final project part 2 post about Curriki.org I wen to the site and did a little exploration. I can see that there are a wide variety of resources, but when I search for yearbook class/curriculum I did not find that particular topic. I am sure contributors will add more to this site in the future. Seems like a great concept for sharing information, but there are so many others have the same concept it is hard to determine which to join and contribute. I would definitely look at who is contributing and review the materials they are posting to help me determine if it is a good source to add to a personal learning network.

    For my own PLN I explored Delicious a cousin of Diigo. They both have similar features, but Diigo allows users to add stickies and highlights which is not the case for Delicious. Tagging becomes really important when using these two social media. I also like the mobile apps feature. Being able to access my bookmarks and having them sync between laptops and mobile devices makes it very efficient.

  3. Aloha Kellen,

    Thank you for your introduction to Curriki and Diigo. These are both networks that I have not explored yet.

    I heard that Curriki is used to share teaching resources and that you would use this network to access high quality, up-to-date, teaching resources. I noticed that you included an article that discusses how Curriki can be used as a collaboration tool where educators can build on the work of other educators and how open educational resources can contribute to bridging the educational divide. I wonder what type of resources that I would be able to find for my teaching endeavors on Curriki?

    I have heard of Diigo, but have not tried it myself yet. Diigo sounds like a good tool for curating online information adding your own input and sharing with others. I can see how this tool could be useful for research as you mentioned. I imagine that we could use this tool for our ETEC program to share resources and notes with classmates if we were working on a collaborative project. I wonder what the percentage of Diigo users is that use this tool for collaboration?

    Mahalo for sharing your findings,
    Anne

Leave a Reply

